The Deer


  • YouTube
  • Black RSS Icon
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter

Transcendental folk band The Deer marry moody Southern Gothic with tranquil, vivid dream-pop. They are borne of Austin's densely imaginative atmosphere. Members include frontwoman Grace Rowland Park (The Blue Hit), upright bassist Jesse Otis Dalton (MilkDrive), guitarist Michael McLeod (Good Field, Linklater film composer), drummer Alan Eckert, and string player Noah Jeffries (MilkDrive, South Austin Jug Band). Frequent collaborator Roger Sellers (Bayonne) adds some of his touch to their songwriting and production. 

The Deer won the 2018 Austin Music Award for Best Performing Folk Band, and were recipients of a major grant from Black Fret in December 2017. They made Austin Music Awards’ Top 10 Best Performing Folk Bands for the past 3 years, and their cover art made Austin Music Industry Awards’ Top 5 Best Album Art twice. They've played festivals like Kerrville Folk, Old Settler’s, Utopiafest, Winter WonderGrass, Oregon Country Fair, SXSW, and co-billed with Elephant Revival, Big Thief, Wild Child. They are currently touring nationally and recording their 4th album.